Pre-College and College Guidance Department

CGCC Photo

Contact

Elizabeth Knudsen
Pre-College Specialist
eknudsen@cgcc.edu, (541) 506-6041

Department Chair

Andrew Carmicheal

Department Director

Matt Fitzpatrick

Pre-College Coordinator

Teresa Cummings

**Fall Term 2020 classes will be completely online again.  Please call 541-506-6041 to get signed up for orientation.  Leave a message if no one answers and you will get a call back.**

*For up to the minute campus closure information, please sign up for FlashAlert*

Click here for the Zoom class links

College Guidance

Teaches current and future students the skills needed to guide them through a successful college experience.

Pre-College Program

College-prep classes help students prepare for or improve scores on college placement tests, develop reading comprehension skills and strategies, renew or increase math skills, and develop writing composition and grammar skills.  Students must be 16 years old or older AND pursuing a GED, or be 16 years old or older, have a high school diploma or GED AND be entering college.

General Education Development (GED®)

Students will learn the needed skills to complete the GED® test.  Students must be 16 years old or older. Classes begin each trimester and follow the college's terms.  NO NEED TO WAIT UNTIL FALL TERM TO BEGIN! Call us to get signed up!

Reading

Expand your reading skills, learn basic to college level reading skills.

CGCC Youth Success Program

A program for eligible youth ages 16-24.

Adult and Dislocated Worker Program

A program housed at the Worksource The Dalles office and on our Hood River campus in room 301.  A program for adults ages 18+.

Classes

Course Name Credits
CG 101 College Survival and Success: Personal Responsibility 1
CG 102 College Survival and Success: Goal Setting 1
CG 103 College Survival and Success: Self-Management 1
CG 111A Study Skills for College Learning 3
CG 111C Study Skills for College Learning 1
CG 114 Financial Survival for College Students 1
CG 130 Today's Careers 2
CG 140B Career and Life Planning 2
CG 209 Job Finding Skills 1
CG 225 Transfer to a Four Year College 2
Namesort ascending Title Email Phone
Kelly Wiley Kelly Wiley Pre-College & Gorge Literacy Program Instructional Assistant kwiley@cgcc.edu (541) 308-8243
Mike Scroggs Mike Scroggs Career Advisor mscroggs@cgcc.edu (541) 308-8261
Traci Miller Traci Miller Career Advisor tmiller@cgcc.edu (541) 296-5435
Elizabeth Knudsen Elizabeth Knudsen Pre-College Specialist eknudsen@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Matt Fitzpatrick Matt Fitzpatrick Pre-College Pathways & Transition Advisor, Title II Director mfitzpatrick@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6042
Teresa Cummings Teresa Cummings Weir Title 1B Program Manager, Pre-College Coordinator tcummings@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6048
Andrew Carmicheal Headshot Andrew Carmicheal Pre-College Department Chair, Pre-College & ESOL Instructor acarmicheal@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041