Pre-College and College Guidance Department

CGCC Photo

Contact

Teresa Cummings
Pre-College Coordinator
tcummings@cgcc.edu, (541) 506-6041

Department Chair

Andrew Carmicheal

***For up to the minute campus closure information, please sign up for FlashAlert***

College Guidance

Teaches current and future students the skills needed to guide them through a successful college experience.

Pre-College Program

College-prep classes help students prepare for or improve scores on college placement tests, develop reading comprehension skills and strategies, renew or increase math skills, and develop writing composition and grammar skills.  Students must be 16 years old or older AND pursuing a GED, or be 16 years old or older, have a high school diploma or GED AND be entering college.

General Education Development (GED®)

Students will learn the needed skills to complete the GED® test.

Reading

Expand your reading skills, learn basic to college level reading skills.

CGCC Youth Success Program

A program for eligible youth ages 16-24.

Adult and Dislocated Worker Program

A program housed at the Worksource The Dalles office and on our Hood River campus in room 301.  A program for adults ages 18+.

Classes

Course Name Credits
CG 101 College Survival and Success: Personal Responsibility 1
CG 102 College Survival and Success: Goal Setting 1
CG 103 College Survival and Success: Self-Management 1
CG 111A Study Skills for College Learning 3
CG 111C Study Skills for College Learning 1
CG 114 Financial Survival for College Students 1
CG 130 Today's Careers 2
CG 140B Career and Life Planning 2
CG 209 Job Finding Skills 1
CG 225 Transfer to a Four Year College 2
Namesort descending Title Email Phone
Franceina Brackenbury Franceina Brackenbury Reading & Pre-College Instructor fbrackenbury@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6179
Teresa Cummings Teresa Cummings Pre-College Coordinator, Title 1B Adult & Dislocated Worker Program Manager tcummings@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Matt Fitzpatrick Matt Fitzpatrick Pre-College Pathways & Transition Advisor mfitzpatrick@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6042
Baltazar Gamez Baltazar Gamez Pre-College Pathways & Transition Advisor bgamez@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6040
Traci Miller Traci Miller Career Advisor tmiller@cgcc.edu (541) 296-5435
Mike Scroggs Mike Scroggs Career Advisor mscroggs@cgcc.edu (541) 308-8261
Kelly Wiley Kelly Wiley Pre-College & Gorge Literacy Program Instructional Assistant kwiley@cgcc.edu (541) 308-8243