Electro-Mechanical Technology

Contact

Suzanne Burd
Community Education Coordinator/EM-Tech Program Coordinator
sburd@cgcc.edu, (541) 506-6123

Columbia Gorge Community College's technican training program has undergone a progression of transformations over the last sixteen years as the college responds to workfoce training needs in the region. What started as the Electrical Engineering Technology (EET) program in 2001, evolved into the Renewable Energy Technology (RET) program in 2007 and now to the Electro-Mechanical (EM-Tech) program in 2017.

The Electro-Mechanical Technology (EM-Tech) program offers premier workforce training through a 9-month Certificate and/or a 2-year Associate of Applied Science (AAS) degree. This nationally-recognized program prepares students to work with automated electronic technologies in a variety of industries, including renewable energy, advanced manufacturing, unmanned aircraft systems and engineering.

Students continue to practice tower climbing, working in a confined space, and rescue techniques in the program for jobs in wind energy and other technician jobs that require climbing. The climbing tower on the The Dalles Campus is an essential part of the first-year curriculum.

The Electro-Mechanical field is seeing rapid growth in technology, creating jobs which will require highly skilled workers over the next two decades. Building on a solid foundation in math, our students learn in a rigorous, hands-on environment and are well-prepared to tackle the challenges of technology-focused industries. EM-Tech graduates work for a variety of agencies and companies such as Bonneville Power Administration, Portland General Electric, Cloudcap Technology, Insitu, Cardinal Glass, Intel, Hewlett Packard and many different wind farm companies.

Get started today. For more information, please contact Suzanne Burd.

Job Opportunities

Students in class
Find out where you can work with an EM-Tech degree.

Alumni Testimonials

Student in class
Read what EM-Tech graduates are saying about the program.

Scholarships

Student in class
Learn about financial assistance for EM-Tech students.

Classes

Course Name Credits
EET 111 DC Circuits 5
EET 112 AC Circuits 5
EET 113 AC Power 5
EET 141 Motor Control 5
EET 219 Programmable Logic Controllers 3
EET 221 Semiconductor Devices and Circuits 5
EET 222 Operational Amplifier Circuits 5
EET 242 Microcontroller Systems 5
EET 251 Digital Electronics 1: Programmable Logic Devices 5
EET 252 Digital Electronics 2: Programmable Logic Devices 5
EET 273 Electronic Control Systems 3
MEC 120 Hydraulics 5
MEC 121 Mechanical Power 1 5
MEC 122 Mechanical Power 2 5
RET 101 Introduction to Wind Turbine Operations 2
RET 102 Alternate Energy Resources 1
RET 223 Power Generation 5
SAF 188 Industrial Safety and OSHA 10 2
UAS 101 Introduction to Unmanned Aircraft Systems 4
Namesort descending Title Email Phone
Suzanne Burd Community Education Coordinator/EM-Tech Program Coordinator sburd@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6123
Mike Davis EM-Tech Adjunct Faculty mdavis@cgcc.edu
Mary Kramer Mary Kramer Director of Career and Technical Education mkramer@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6033
Tom Lieurance Tom Lieurance Electro-Mechanical Technology Instructor tlieurance@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6175
Jim Pytel Jim Pytel Electro-Mechanical Technology Instructor jpytel@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000
Chris Spengler Electro-Mechanical Technology Instructor cspengler@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6181