Skip to Content
Close

Student e-mail will be down at 8 am Friday (12/19) to 5 pm Monday (12/22).

Pre-College and College Guidance Department

Contact

Stephanie Gale-McKnight
Pre-College Specialist III
smcknight@cgcc.edu, (541) 506-6041

Department Chair

Franceina Brackenbury

College Guidance

Teaching current and future students the skills needed to guide them through a successful college experience.

College Prep Program

People looking to go back to college can learn the basic skills needed for taking college courses.

General Education Development (GED®)

Students will learn the needed skills to complete the GED® test.

Reading

Expand your reading skills, learn basic to college level reading skills.

Classes

Course Name Credits Description
CG 101 College Survival and Success: Personal Responsibility 1

Provides information and techniques for personal responsibility as a means for creating college success. Introduces developing skills for navigating a culturally diverse learning environment and utilizing college resources and services. First course in a series (CG 101-103). Audit available.

CG 102 College Survival and Success: Goal Setting 1

Provides information on the role of goal-setting as a means for creating college success. Continues to develop skills for navigating a culturally diverse learning environment and for utilizing college resources and services. Second course in the series (CG101-103). Prerequisite: CG101. Audit available.

CG 103 College Survival and Success: Self-Management 1

Focuses on the role of self-management as a means for creating college success. Continues to develop skills for navigating a culturally diverse learning environment and accessing college resources and services. Third course in a series (CG101-103). Prerequisite: CG 101. Audit available.

CG 111A Study Skills for College Learning 3

Provides information, techniques, and strategies helpful in becoming more efficient in studying, note taking, textbook reading, and taking exams. Develops skills in scheduling study time, library research, memory strategies, and critical thinking. Prerequisites: Placement into WR 90 and RD 90. Audit available.

CG 111C Study Skills for College Learning 1

Introduces information and techniques in note taking, textbook reading, taking exams, and developing a study schedule. Prerequisites: Placement into WR 90 and RD 90. Audit available.

CG 114 Financial Survival for College Students 1

Provides basic information and strategies to empower individuals to make positive decisions about funding their education and establishing control over their financial lives, leading to financial independence and reduced life stress. Introduces: funding college, budgeting, wise use of credit, controlling debt, basic financial planning, effective financial decision making, and avoiding financial mistakes and pitfalls. Prerequisites: WR 90, RD 90, and MTH 20 or equivalent placement test scores. Audit available.

CG 225 Transfer to a Four Year College 2

Explores the planning of transferring to a four year college. Includes the various processes, requirements, and issues that impact successful transitions. Provides strategies and information critical to academic development and adjustment to the four year college system. Prerequisite: Placement into WR 115 and RD 115. Audit available.

RD 115 Critical Reading 4

Improves critical reading skills and strategies, critical thinking, and vocabulary development, through the analysis of diverse college-level texts. Prerequisites: Placement into RD 115. Audit available.

RD 90 Transformative Reading 3

Improves reading skills and strategies, including identifying purpose, improving reading accuracy, developing vocabulary, self-monitoring and improving text analysis.  Placement into RD 90. Audit available.

Faculty and Staff

Namesort icon Title Email Phone
Kelly Wiley Kelly Wiley Pre-College/ESOL & Literacy Program Instructional Assistant kwiley@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000, ext. 8243
Stephen Shwiff History & Business Law Instructor sshwiff@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6031
Patrick Rawson Patrick Rawson Pre-College Programs Instructor prawson@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000, ext. 8241
Abby Merickel Abby Merickel Art & Reading Instructor americkel@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Brook Maurer Brook Maurer Pre-College and Career Guidance Instructor bmaurer@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6178
Emily Kohner Pre-College Writing Instructor ekohner@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Jenn Kamrar Developmental Education Instructor jkamrar@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6183
Mary (Katy) Jablonski Pre College Reading & Writing mjablonski@cgcc.edu
Janette Stanley Janette Harrington Pre-College Instructor jharrington@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Stephanie Gale-McKnight Stephanie Gale-McKnight Pre-College Specialist III smcknight@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Julie (Jules) Burton Julie (Jules) Burton Environmental Science Instructor jburton@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000, ext. 7163
Franceina Brackenbury Franceina Brackenbury
Reading & Pre-College Instructor
Department Chair
fbrackenbury@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6179
Melissa Bickle Pre-College Math Instructor mbickle@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Julie Belmore Julie Belmore Pre-College, Reading, English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) jbelmore@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041