Skip to Content

Pre-College and College Guidance Department

Contact

Jean Ewald
Transfer and Pre-College Specialist/GED Examiner
jewald@cgcc.edu, (541) 506-6041

Department Chair

Brook Maurer

College Guidance

Teaching current and future students the skills needed to guide them through a successful college experience.

College Prep Program

People looking to go back to college can learn the basic skills needed for taking college courses.

General Education Development (GED)

Students will learn the needed skills to complete the GED exam, when they are ready they will take the exam.

Reading

Expand your reading skills, learn basic to college level reading skills.

Classes

Course Name Credits Description
CG 101 College Survival and Success: Personal Responsibility 1

Provides information and techniques for personal responsibility as a means for creating college success. Introduces developing skills for navigating a culturally diverse learning environment and utilizing college resources and services. First course in a series (CG 101-103). Audit available.

CG 102 College Survival and Success: Goal Setting 1

Provides information on the role of goal-setting as a means for creating college success. Continues to develop skills for navigating a culturally diverse learning environment and for utilizing college resources and services. Second course in the series (CG101-103). Prerequisite: CG101. Audit available.

CG 103 College Survival and Success: Self-Management 1

Focuses on the role of self-management as a means for creating college success. Continues to develop skills for navigating a culturally diverse learning environment and accessing college resources and services. Third course in a series (CG101-103). Prerequisite: CG 101. Audit available.

CG 111A Study Skills for College Learning 3

Provides information, techniques, and strategies helpful in becoming more efficient in studying, note taking, textbook reading, and taking exams. Identify preferred learning style and develop skills in scheduling study time, library research, memory strategies, and critical thinking. Prerequisites: Placement into WR 115 and RD 115 Audit available.

CG 111C Study Skills for College Learning 1

Introduces information and techniques in note taking, textbook reading, and taking exams. Develop a study schedule. Prerequisites: Placement into WR 115 and RD 115.

CG 114 Financial Survival for College Students 1

Provides basic information and strategies to empower individuals to make positive decisions about funding their education and establishing control over their financial lives, leading to financial independence and reduced life stress. Introduces: funding college, budgeting, wise use of credit, controlling debt, basic financial planning, effective financial decision making, and avoiding financial mistakes and pitfalls. Prerequisites: WR 90, RD 90, and MTH 20 or equivalent placement test scores. Audit available.

CG 225 Transfer to a Four Year College 2

Explores the planning of transferring to a four year college. Includes the various processes, requirements, and issues that impact successful transitions. Provides strategies and information critical to academic development and adjustment to the four year college system. Prerequisite: Placement into WR 115 and RD 115. Audit available.

RD 115 College Reading 4

Focuses on expanding reading frequency and effectively reading complex college level texts; emphasizes comprehension strategies, critical reading and thinking skills, information literacy, vocabulary development, student success strategies and adapting reading rate to different reading tasks. Prerequisite: Placement into RD 115 or successful completion of RD 90 AND placement into WR 90. Audit available.

RD 90 Reading 90 3

Improves reading through work on vocabulary development, motor skills, comprehension and some reading rate improvement. Prerequisite: Placement into RD 90. Audit available.

Faculty and Staff

Namesort icon Title Email Phone
Kelly Wiley Pre-College/ESOL & Literacy Program Instructional Assistant kwiley@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000, ext. 8243
Mike Taphouse Director of Advising and Career Services mtaphouse@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6026
Stephen Shwiff History & Business Law Instructor sshwiff@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6031
Patrick Rawson Patrick Rawson Pre-College Programs Instructor prawson@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000, ext. 8241
Abby Merickel Abby Merickel Art & Reading Instructor americkel@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Brook Maurer Brook Maurer
Pre-College and Career Guidance Instructor
Department Chair
bmaurer@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6179
Loren Mason-Gere Academic Advisor lgere@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6066
Emily Kohner Pre-College Writing Instructor ekohner@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Jenn Kamrar Developmental Education Instructor jkamrar@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6183
Mary (Katy) Jablonski Pre College Reading & Writing mjablonski@cgcc.edu
Kaylene Herman Kaylene Herman Academic Advisor kherman@cgcc.edu (541) 308-8214
Janette Stanley Janette Harrington
Pre-College Instructor
Curriculum Committee Chair
jharrington@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Jean Ewald Transfer and Pre-College Specialist/GED Examiner jewald@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Theresa Cruz Pre-College Instructional Assistant tcruz@cgcc.edu (541) 506-7165
Julie (Jules) Burton Julie (Jules) Burton Environmental Science Instructor jburton@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000, ext. 7163
Franceina Brackenbury Franceina Brackenbury Reading & Pre-College Instructor fbrackenbury@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6000, ext. 7164
Melissa Bickle Pre-College Math Instructor mbickle@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041
Julie Belmore Julie Belmore
Pre-College, Reading, English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
Department Chair
jbelmore@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6041