Skip to Content

Nursing

Columbia Gorge Community College (CGCC) offers a career ladder program for individuals who want to become licensed practical nurses or registered nurses. After successfully completing the required credits of the first year of the Nursing program, you will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. Completion of this level qualifies you to apply to the Oregon State Board of Nursing to take the exam to become a licensed practical nurse (LPN).

An associate degree in nursing is earned after completion of the second year of coursework which qualifies you to apply to the Oregon State Board of Nursing to take the exam to become a registered nurse (RN).

Prerequisites

Cumulative college G.P.A. of 3.0 or greater; completion of the following with a grade "C" or better within the past five years: MTH 95, WR 121, CH 104, BI 231; if the math and/or writing are older than three years, you must take a college placement test and test in WR 121 and MTH 111. Admitted and wait listed students must complete NUR 60 by Fall Term 2013.

Classes

Course Name Credits Description
NUR 110 Nursing I: Fundamentals of Nursing 9

Introduces the collection and organization of client/patient data relating to nursing care responsibilities in community-based long-term care. Examines the roles and interaction of nursing theory and practice as they relate to the physiological, psychological, sociocultural, developmental and spiritual needs of clients/patients. Prerequisite: NUR 60 and admission to the Nursing Program.

NUR 111 Nursing II: Care Across the Lifespan 9

Integrates nursing theory and practice as they relate to growth and development, psychosocial coping responses to illness, and alterations in the health status of adults, children and their families. Includes content on the obstetrical client/patient. Covers application of nursing process to promote health of clients/patients in acute care and community-based settings. Prerequisite: NUR 110 or admission into the Nursing Program by advanced placement.

NUR 112 Nursing III: Obstetrics & Chronic Healthcare 9

Expands on nursing theory and practice related to nursing care focusing on acute and chronic healthcare needs of patients. Includes nursing care responsibilities for patients and their families in the acute care and obstetrical settings. Prerequisite: NUR 111 or admission into the Nursing Program by advanced placement.

NUR 210 Nursing IV: Psychiatric & Complex Acute Care 9

Continues nursing curriculum and clinical practices of roles and responsibilities at the registered nurse level. Provides opportunities to learn and apply the knowledge and skills necessary to implement care for complex acute care and psychiatric clients. Prerequisite: NUR 112 or admission into the Nursing Program by advanced placement.

Clinical: TB test results and current immunizations submitted before student is permitted in the clinical area. Current CPR certification is required.

NUR 211 Nursing V: Emergent Healthcare 9

Explores the higher level nursing roles found in critical care, end of life care, and discharge planning within hospital and community settings. Emphasizes the planning and delivery of individualized, holistic and more complex nursing care to seriously ill clients in the acute care area. Prerequisite: NUR 210.

Clinical: TB test results and current immunizations submitted before student is permitted in the clinical area. Current CPR certification is required. Focus is on nursing interventions for the unstable medical/surgical patient.

NUR 212 Nursing VI: Preceptorship 8

Integrates theory and registered nurse practice through preceptorship and capstone projects. Includes preceptorship placement in either the acute care, specialty care, or community-based care setting. Emphasizes leadership and management concepts. Prerequisite: NUR 211.

Clinical: TB test results and current immunizations submitted before student is permitted in the clinical area. Current CPR certification is required.

Faculty and Staff

Namesort icon Title Email Phone
Dawn Agidius Clinical Nursing Instructor dagidius@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6146
Diana Bailey Diana Bailey Nursing Instructor dbailey@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6147
Amanda Bellus Nursing Instructor abellus@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Mercedes Bolton Mercedes Bolton Nursing Instructor mbolton@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6148
Maureen Harter Nursing Instructor mharter@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6145
Doris Jepson Doris Jepson Nursing Instructor/Director of Nursing and Health Occupations djepson@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6140
Gwen Johnston Gwen Johnston Nursing Instructor gjohnston@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6143
Angela Johnston Nursing & Health Occupations Administrative Assistant ajohnston@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Griselda Manzo De Garcia Nursing Instructor ggarcia@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Erinn Quinn Nursing Instructor equinn@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Jennifer Stager Nursing Instructor jstager@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6163
Jessica Webb Nursing Instructor jwebb@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141