Literature

The English department offers a wide variety of pre-college and undergraduate courses to meet the needs of students with a diversity of interests, and academic and professional backgrounds. By studying composition, theory, literature, film studies, and foreign language, students acquire a cross-disciplinary skill set that will apply to any vocational choice. Students in the English will learn to read closely, think critically, and to write with insight and expertise.

Classes

Course Name Credits
ENG 104 Introduction to Literature - Fiction 4
ENG 105 Introduction to Literature - Drama 4
ENG 106 Introduction to Literature - Poetry 4
ENG 195 Film Studies: Film as Art 4
ENG 213 Latin American Literature 4
ENG 214 Literature of the Pacific Northwest 4
ENG 222 Images of Women in Literature 4
ENG 237 American Working Class Literature 4
ENG 250 Introduction to Folklore and Mythology 4
ENG 253 Survey of American Literature to 1865 4
ENG 254 Survey of American Literature from 1865 to present 4
ENG 260 Introduction to Women Writers 4
ENG 261 Literature of Science Fiction 4
Name Title Email Phone
Amanda Webster English, Writing Instructor mwebster@cgcc.edu
Andrea Golts Andrea Golts English, Writing Instructor andrea.golts@gmail.com
Andrea Ware Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor / Writing & Literature aware@cgcc.edu
Jennifer Hanlon-Wilde Jennifer Hanlon-Wilde Writing Instructor jwilde@cgcc.edu
Kristen Booth Kristen Booth Writing Instructor kbooth@cgcc.edu
Kristie Towell English & Writing Instructor ktowell@cgcc.edu (541) 806-1295
Leigh Hancock Writing Instructor lhancock@cgcc.edu
Nan Noteboom Nan Noteboom English and Writing Instructor nnoteboom@cgcc.edu
Scott Stein Scott Stein English & Writing Instructor sstein@cgcc.edu
Tim Schell Tim Schell Literature and Writing Instructor, Department Chair tschell@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6171
Tom Kaser Tom Kaser English/Writing Instructor tkaser@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6180